Multiple Teams · Winter Sports & Activities Update


TO:            Big Lake Students, Parents, and Fans

FROM:      Logan Midthun, Activities Director

DATE:       December 21, 2020

RE:             Winter Sports & Activities

Students, Parents, and Fans,

With the recent Executive Order from Governor Walz, we now have a date for the return of in-person sports and activities. Monday, January 4, 2021, has been established as the date for schools to begin in-person practices for sports and activities. Athletic and Activity programs will initially be limited to practice only with the start date of competition yet to be determined. Spectator guidelines are yet to be determined as well.

Parents and students, please make sure you are registered for your respective sport/activity. Students cannot practice until they are fully registered. A physical must be on file before registration can be completed. Registration can be completed at this site- https://2007a.cf.wordwareinc.com/?p=2216. Any questions regarding registration can be directed to:

Emily Gallus-High School Main Office (e.gallus@biglakeschools.org, 763-262-5183)
Jenny Sibbet- Middle School Main Office (j.sibbet@biglakeschools.org, 763-262-6172)

Schedules are currently being revised to meet MSHSL parameters. They will be shared and up to date on www.mississippi8.org “click Big Lake High School” and “view schedules”.

See information below for sport and activity specific information. Please contact the respective head coach with any questions.

Sport/Activity Practice Start Date Head Coach Coach Email Address Grades
Dance Team Monday, Jan. 4 Kayla Kleinsteuber dance@biglakeschools.org 7-12
Cheerleading Monday, Jan. 4 Derek Nelson cheerleading@biglakeschools.org 7-12
HS Wrestling Monday, Jan. 4 Ryan Prom r.prom@biglakeschools.org 9-12
HS Girls Basketball Monday, Jan. 4 Reyan Robinson reyrob23@gmail.com 9-12
HS Boys Basketball Monday, Jan. 4 Tom Critchley t.critchley@biglakeschools.org 9-12
Gymnastics Monday, Jan. 4 Nikki Collison & Lanny Goldsmith (n.dilbert@biglakeschools.org) & (ldg10@comcast.net) 7-12
Boys Hockey Monday, Jan. 4 Zach Barzee zach@bpathletics.com 7-12
Girls Hockey Monday, Jan. 4 Gage Chaffee coachfuzzy@gmail.com 7-12
One Act Monday, Jan. 4 Ryan Purdy r.purdy@biglakeschools.org 9-12
Speech Monday, Jan. 4 Derek Nelson speech@biglakeschools.org 9-12
MS Girls Basketball Monday, Jan. 4 Andy Noble & Lowell Streit a.noble@biglakeschools.org & l.streit@biglakeschools.org 7-8
MS Wrestling Monday, Jan. 18 Loren Holthaus & AJ Sandford l.holthaus@biglakeschools.org & a.sandford@biglakeschools.org 7-8
MS Boys Basketball Monday, Feb. 8 Steve Klein, Bill Miller, Andy Noble s.klein@biglakeschools.org & a.noble@biglakeschools.org 7-8

*Some activities start dates, set up, and schedules are yet to be determined. More information will be shared as it becomes available.*

We are committed to providing a safe environment for our kids to participate in the sports and activities that they are passionate about.

 

Logan Midthun

Activities Director

Big Lake Schools

l.midthun@biglakeschools.org

763-262-5114